Ministries reduced and some surprises unveiled


Alberta Premier Alison Redford announced a cabinet Wednesday that mixed new faces with old and reduced the number of ministries from 24 to 21.

Promising change, Redford chose eight new cabinet members and dropped 12. While many expected Redford’s cabinet to contain more personnel changes the biggest changes were in the placement of the existing members.

Only two members of Stelmach’s cabinet, Verlyn Olson, Minister of Justice, and Greg Weadick Minister of Advanced Education and Technology, remained in their previous ministry.

“Continuity doesn’t mean things will stay exactly the same, but it does mean that we’ve moved away from an upheaval,” Redford said about her choices.


Some of the members smile at the announcment to their new cabnet on Wednesday
Photo by: Aaron Taylor

Of the MLAs returning to the cabinet perhaps the most notable was Ron Liepert.

There was much speculation that Liepert would not be chosen, given that he publicly did not support Redford’s leadership bid and had said he would fight Redford on certain issues.

“Minister Liepert is my friend,” Redford said. “When I got involved with provincial politics he was one of the first people I met in a Humpty’s restaurant in Westhill so many years ago. I appreciate his advice, he has tremendous perspective on this province.”

Previous cabinet members not returning are Cindy Ady, Yvonne Fritz, Lindsay Blackett, Luke Ouellette, Lloyd Snelgrove, Gene Zwozdesky, Hector Goudreau, Mary Anne Jablonski, Mel Knight, Rob Renner, Len Webber, and Iris Evans.

“I was looking for people that are smart innovative and listened to Albertans,” Redford said of her newly named cabinet.

Redford’s new cabinet

Alison Redford, QC, Calgary-Elbow: Premier, President of Executive Council, Chair of Agenda and Priorities

Doug Horner, Spruce Grove-Sturgeon-St. Albert: Deputy Premier, President of Treasury Board and Enterprise

David Hancock, Edmonton-Whitemud: Minister of Human Services, Government House Leader

Ted Morton, Foothills-Rocky View: Minister of Energy

Verlyn Olson, Wetaskiwin-Camrose: Minister of Justice and Attorney General, Deputy Government House Leader

Fred Horne, Edmonton-Rutherford: Minister of Health and Wellness

Ron Liepert, Calgary-West: Minister of Finance

Thomas Lukaszuk, Edmonton-Castle Downs: Minister of Education

Diana McQueen, Drayton Valley-Calmar: Minister of Environment and Water

Jonathan Denis, Calgary-Egmont: Solicitor General and Minister of Public Security; Deputy Government House Leader

Cal Dallas, Red Deer-South: Minister of International, Intergovernmental and Aboriginal Relations

Evan Berger, Livingstone-Macleod: Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development

Frank Oberle, Peace River: Minister of Sustainable Resource Development

George VanderBurg, Whitecourt-Ste. Anne: Minister of Seniors

Ray Danyluk, Lac La Biche-St. Paul: Minister of Transportation

Jeff Johnson, Athabasca-Redwater: Minister of Infrastructure

Doug Griffiths, Battle River-Wainwright: Minister of Municipal Affairs

Greg Weadick, Lethbridge-West: Minister of Advanced Education and Technology

Jack Hayden, Drumheller-Stettler: Minister of Tourism, Parks and Recreation

Heather Klimchuk, Edmonton-Glenora: Minister of Culture and Community Services

Manmeet Bhullar, Calgary-Montrose: Minister of Service Alberta

Reporter Aaron Taylor is a journalism student in the diploma program at Grant MacEwan University in Edmonton, Alta. The West Edmonton Local is their program’s publication.

Report an Error or Typo

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *